top of page

Chapter History

In 1978 a group of 15 bright, determined and like-minded individuals set out to charter Mu Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. to serve communities in Vicksburg, Mississippi. Their courage to start a new chapter speaks volumes about who they were, and we’re honored to follow in their footsteps.

Our Sorority represents a group of diverse people who always strive for the highest level of excellence, as our founders intended. Shared goals and interests in areas of service, academics and building solid relationships hold our chapter together and define who are we.

Those members were:  Santa Williams Carpenter, Alberta Clay, Dorothy Daniels, Melissa Demby, Bertha Payne Flagg, Jasmine Jones, Linda Kay Jones Powell, Helen Martin, Ezell Matthews, Zelmarine Murphy, Louise Ross, Willie Mary Thompson, Rebecca Vaughn, Thelma Winston and Gwendolyn Yates.

The first officers of the Chapter were:  

  • President: Bertha Flagg

  • Vice President: Zelmarine Murphy

  • Secretary: Helen Martin

  • Treasurer: Jimmie Jones

  • Corresponding Secretary:  Rebecca Vaughn

  • Historian:  Ezell Matthews

  • Ivy Leaf Reporter:  Santa Williams Carpenter


The membership of Mu Xi Omega includes talented and professional women who represent high ethical and moral standards. Mu Xi Omega has a long legacy of promoting and upholding the policies, initiatives and programs of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority as envisioned by our founders, to be of service to those within the Vicksburg community. 


Our cornerstone programs over the years have included the: Reading is Fundamental (RIF) Program, an after-school tutorial program for middle school students and the annual scholarship program highlighted through our Biennial Beautillion Scholarship Presentation and the Mu Xi Omega Pearls Girls' Club. 


Other initiatives have included programs for the community including economic/financial literacy, promoting breast cancer awareness, entrepreneurial workshops and assisting families in becoming self-sufficient. Annually, Mu XiOmega makes contributions to organizations whose mission is consistent with our goals of providing services which enhance the quality of life for citizens of the Warren County area.   A few MXO community service projects include:  The American Cancer Society Relay for Life, the Patricia Anderson Segrest Sickle Cell Walk, AKA Community Service Luncheon and many others.


Bertha Payne Flagg

1st President of Mu Xi Omega Chapter 

1978 Charter Members of Mu Xi Omega

1976-1979  Bertha Moore Payne Flagg    
1980-1981  Zelmarine Anderson Murphy
1982-1983  Helen Robinson Martin
1984-1984  Connie Sturgis
1985-1985  Shirley Washington
1986-1987  Dedra Crockett Griffin
1988-1989  Patricia Anderson Segrest
1990-1991  Mable Elzie Jennings
1992-1993  Santa Williams Carpenter
1994-1995  Thelma Winston
1996-1999  Patricia Anderson Segrest
2000-2001  Santa Williams Carpenter
2002-2003  Bertha Moore Payne Flagg
2004-2007  Debra Robinson Goodman
2008-2009 Jannifer Fisher Banks
2010-2011   Sheila Lowe
2012-2013  Zelmarine Anderson Murphy
2014-2017  Anitra Hall Nichols
2018-2019  Trena Brown Warren
2020-2021  Ramona Harris Warren

2021-2023 Pamela D. Newton

Former MXO Presidents

bottom of page